d.c.-area munis to get a lift from national links trust

Three Washinton, D.C. municipal golf courses are to receive operating help from the National Links Trust, according to a story posted by Tim Gavrich on the GolfAdvisor.com website. One of them, Langston Golf Course, is home to the Wake-Robbin Golf Club, the nation’s oldest golf society for African-American women, founded in 1937 (see photo below, courtesy National Links Trust). Click […]

persimmon woods get some love

The older persimmon woods had a life, a balance, and beauty all their own. Classic MacGregors, Wilsons, Spaldings… they can still be found and makers such as Louisville Golf turn out some modern classics, too. Writer Shawn Allen talks about persimmon drivers in a recent edition of the Morning Read and feels they still have a place in the game. […]

Tiger and Pebble Beach cook up some short course action

From Geoff Shackelford’s website comes news about Tiger Woods and Pebble Beach. Pebble Beach Golf Links has played an important part of American golf.  Over the years, it has hosted 12 major championships: six U.S. Opens (1972, 1982, 1992, 2000, 2010, 2019); three U.S. Amateurs (1929, 1947, 1961); two U.S. Women’s Amateurs (1940, 1948); and one PGA Championship (1977).  In addition […]

RBS Heritage celebrates 50 years

RBS Heritage, playing this week, is, like the GHS, celebrating its 50th year. It’s roster of past champions include Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Nick Faldo, Hale Irwin, Bernhard Langer, Johnny Miller, Greg Norman, Nick Price, Tom Watson and the late Payne Stewart — all of whom are in the World Golf Hall of Fame.  Enjoy this link to painted portraits of […]

Pepperdine’s Theegala named 2020 Ben Hogan Award honoree

The annual Ben Hogan award, begun by teaching great Tom Harmon, honors the male amateur and collegiate golfer. Pepperdine University golfer Sahith Theegala is the 2020 honoree. Previous winners include Hunter Mahan, Ricky Barnes, Bill Haas, Ryan Moore, Matt Every, Chris Kirk, Rickie Fowler, Kyle Stanley and Nick Taylor. Recent winners include young stars Peter Uihlein, Patrick Cantlay, Patrick Rodgers, […]