membership news and notes

Here GHS members will find updates about their Society, from the latest trends and Board activities to news of the member activities. Should you have news for the page, please contact Jim Davis at

Share your GHS stories and ideas

When GHS member James Kaiser of Louisville, Ky., finds time from his job for a local winery, or helping beginners with their golf games, he’s busy coming up for ideas to promote the GHS and his love of pre-1900 hickory golf. Click here to see his invitation for your stories, ideas.

ghs member stories

Contributions from GHS members on a variety of topics.
Erie Flad’s George Nicoll Viking Series golf clubs
Arnie stories – The King
GHS members share their personal stories of Arnold Palmer.

Honors and such

The Society has created a new Hall of Fame replacing the Founders Award. The membership includes past recipients of the Founders Award, here listed alphabetically: Gene Bolden, Lee Crist, Ray Davis, Dick Donovan, Frank Hardison, Bob Kuntz, Bob Labbance, Joe Murdoch, Janet Seagle, Fred Smith, John Whittemore, Charlie Yaws, and Frank Zadra. These individuals provided support and helped the Society grow and prosper from its beginnings.

The Harris-Wolke Award goes to a GHS member who gives willingly of his to her time to help others with assembling a collection and related golf history. The 2019 award went to Bill Reed who has been a friend to all in the Society and a perfect representative of all the Harris-Wolke Award stands for. A new award, the Golden Quill, for the best article in The Golf since the last Annual Meeting went to John Fischer III for his article “‘Round in 65” on Henry Cotton’s victory in the 1934 British Open which appeared in the Summer 2019 issue.

Look under the “About Us” tab for detailed information and more on the award recipients.

member obituaries

In our quarterly magazine there is an occasional note “To Absent Friends” about the passing of our GHS members. Please do let us know of such passings that we can share them with the membership in this space. Click on the names below for additional information.

Douglas W. Marshall
Leonard Fischer, March 2021
Richard “Dick” McDonough, March 2021
Dr. George “Willie” Gayle, October 2019
Joe Meehan, August 2019
Lance Enholm, April 2019